A month of Thanks

Have you ever wondered why Christmas shows up in stores in October?  Ever pondered why we go strait from Halloween and Fall parties to Christmas?  Over the past few years it has really started to bother me that it seems society skips a holiday.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas with the lights, tress and presents but you can’t just skip a holiday.  A holiday that is in our country’s history!

I am not a history buff by any means nor do I claim to know all the details surrounding the history of Thanksgiving but I do know that it is a holiday and a good holiday.  It is the holiday that focuses on everything but ones self.  The holiday to me means to focus on everything that is good.  To give thanks for everything, and I mean everything that has happened through the year.

I am not trying to say that I find it easy to give thanks.  I have actually been struggling the past week with finding anything to be thankful for.  It seems that the more I try and be thankful the harder it is for me to find the good.  Growing up, I loved watching ‘White Christmas’.  My dad always would sing, “I count my blessing instead of sheep”.  It never really hit me how hard that is sometimes until I grew up.  Counting your blessings instead of struggles.  Counting your blessings instead of the money left in the bank account.Counting your blessing instead of worrying about how you will cover bills or buy groceries.

Counting your blessings is not easy but I think its a good idea.  I will share my 30 days of thanks.  Feel free to chime in with yours!

Day 1:  I am thankful for the shadows on my coffee because that means the sun is shinning!

Day 2:  I am thankful for my goofy daughter!  Without her there would be many days without laughter.

Day 3:  I am so very thankful that Paramedic school is almost over
Day 4:  I am thankful for 2nd hand clothes and scoring some amazing deals
Day 5:  Thankful for the mothers room that our church has.  Many church services would be missed if we did not have one.
Day 6:  So very thankful for the women in my church that have reached out to me and helped me grow as a woman and mother.
Day 7:  I am thankful for books that I grew up with.
Day 8:  Thankful that my hubby has found a career that he loves and is amazing at.

Day 9:  I am thankful for www.firefighterwife.com.  Those ladies are the ones that understand the crazy life I am living and are there to support and encourage.
Day 10: Becoming thankful for the hours that my dad made me practise.  There are days sitting down and playing are the only ways that I can handle the stress.

Day 11:  Thankful for my sewing machine that allows me to make Christmas presents and other things.
Day 12:  Thankful for little hands and feet.  The little hands that help me cook and bake.  The little, but very loud feet that hit the floor running every morning.
Day 13:  Thankful for my grandma and the things that she left me with when she died.  Her bible has been a huge blessing and comfort for me.
Day 14:  Thankful for my piano.  It provides many hours of banging for the kids and playing for me.

Day 15:  I am thankful for the words, “you sleep, I will get the kids!”
Day 16:  Thankful for my parents who encouraged me to be creative.  Because of them I know what everyone is getting for Christmas.
Day 17:  Thankful for the sound of rain on the window.
Day 18:  Thankful for my sons innocent heart.  He is always ready to forgive and say ‘I’m sorry’.  It keeps me on track during the tough days.

Day 19:  Thankful for my children’s nap time.  I will never be ready for that time of day to end.
Day 20:  Thankful that Hansen has a job!

I will finish this list in the next few days.  Giving thanks sometimes comes easy but for me this year it is hard.  Finding the good in all the stress seems to be a challenge for me these days.  How did it go for you?

