Messiness

I have never been the type of mom that worried about how messy my kids were while they played. I have always encouraged messy play and just clean up with they are done. Honestly, I always thought I was odd.  I have come to realize that me being that easy going has set me up to be able to handle Jordan’s sensory issues. It prepared me to shrug off the dyed spaghetti all over the floor and kids, the dried rice and beans that are in random places in my house.  Maybe not being a perfectionist about my house is a good thing.

 

I have learned so much in the past 4 years. 4 years ago(in May) I had the scariest, at the time, 29 hrs of my life.  I didn’t know if the baby inside me would be OK.  I was in love with my son that I had never met.  I was worried that it was my fault.  Obviously, things worked out. I have an amazing son, who has taught me so much about life. His daily struggles have made me realize just how amazing he is.  I have had to learn how to handle someone that can’t sit still, ever.  I am the type of person that has to have quiet and stillness.  Some how, he got none of those traits.  He struggles with not being stimulated enough but then gets over stimulated and doesn’t know how to process it all.  Watching him process things, and figure out how he feels is exciting,frustrating, exhilarating, painful and inspiring.

One of my struggles is that, because of his age I can’t find a Dr to listen to my concerns.  I have done my own research, talked to other moms, prayed and have a feeling in my ‘mommy gut’ that tells me that I am right.  As I talk to others and read the research I heave a sigh of relief and satisfaction.  Relief to know I am not alone and satisfaction that I am right when everyone keeps telling me that it is a phase.  Just for the record, a ‘phase’ doesn’t last 4 yrs… Now, to convince a Dr that I am right.

Sensory play has been my life saver!  Pinterest has also been my savior lately.  I am a creative person, but have been running low on ideas.  How did I not think of putting sprinkles in bread dough?  Or dyeing spaghetti and letting them rip it apart?  I even got into that one.  We ended up giggling, talking about worms, looking at the colors on our hands and just plain having fun.  There wasn’t any melt downs, not arguing over who got to play with what.  There wasn’t any huffing and puffing, spitting, crying, hitting, or over reacting. It was just fun with my kids, watching them learn about the senses they have in their hands and eye’s.  It was peaceful, calm, and ‘normal’.  It doesn’t always take fancy diagnosis, a Dr’s agreement, or a lot of money.  Sometimes it just takes a mess.

