The Ta-Done list

I always knew growing up that my mom would spend all of Friday cleaning house and fixing food for Sabbath.  It didn’t bother me, in fact I really never noticed everything that she did until I had my own kids and tried to accomplish cleaning, cooking and laundry all in the same day.  I still haven’t figured out how to do it all.  When you have 2 hurricanes following you around the house it is next to impossible to look at your house at the end of your day and see what you accomplished.  I have been getting more and more frustrated, to the point where I wonder why I try.  Then, today, I decided that instead of a ‘to do’ list I would make a ‘ta-done’ list.  I would keep track of everything that I accomplished today instead of what needed to be done.  I honestly don’t need a list of what needs done, I think it is permanently ingrained on my brain.

The idea of the ‘ta-done’ list is so that I don’t dwell on what I didn’t accomplish but so that, when I sit down at the end of the day, I can actually see what was done.  As a mom, it is so easy to get lost in what went wrong that day, the number of melt-downs, the number of times you had to re-direct the same behavior, the number of times you say one thing because they ‘didn’t hear you’ the first time, and well, you get the idea.  As a mom of 2 young kids it is hard not to lose myself in the mundane everyday things.  This is where the ‘ta-done’ list comes into play.

On the days when I start to feel overwhelmed and can’t see my accomplishments I start a list of all that I have done that day and it doesn’t seem so bad.  Add in the hugs, smiles, sticky kisses, thank yous, ‘helping’ hands and general laughter I am able to focus more on what is the most important, the fact that my kids are happy and they know that they are loved.

Anyway, in all of that I really do have a point.  As moms, we need to start focusing on what we have accomplished in our day not what didn’t get finished.  It is easy to get bogged down in the ‘to do’ list but I challenge you to change your list.  It really does help your day!

6 thoughts on “The Ta-Done list

  1. Love it! We can’t do everything….and as an organizational expert who has read many books on time management, we should really only be putting 5-7 tasks (not including appointments/meetings) on our to-do list per day. Once you factor in appointments, interruptions, meals and sleep, you have time for little else anyway! Always make time for hugs.

    Like

Comments are closed.