Sugar Free! She must have lost her mind.

Over the past couple years I have drastically changed our diets.  Those changes were for my kids, at least that is what I told myself.  I have taken all artificial dyes out of our diets as well as High Fructose Corn Syrup.  I buy mostly organic produce and control how much sugar my children eat.  This change, the change I made this month was for me.  I decided, for myself, that I was going to go sugar free.

I have always had the addiction of sugar.  It is a running joke in my family that I have never met something sweet that I didn’t like.  I gave up coffee so that my sugar intake would go down.  In the research that I have done, I think the biggest hang up for my weight has been the amount of sugar that I ingest.  I have always considered myself to be a healthy eater, besides the desserts that are always in my house. I love fruits and veggies and don’t like them smothered in anything.  I have been known to polish off a head of broccoli just because I could.  Anyway, back to the present.  When I started thinking about my new years goals in December I decided that this year, I was going to do a goal for every month.  My first goal, going sugar free for the month of January.

In hind sight, I really had no idea what I was getting myself into.  I figured it wouldn’t be hard.  I already read labels because of keeping track of dye’s and high fructose corn syrup.  Come to find out, I didn’t read enough of them.  Could someone explain to me why tortilla’s need sugar in them?  Or why garlic salt, lemon pepper, or Lawry’s season salt needs sugar?  How about bread?  As I circled the store for my first sugar free grocery shopping trip I become very upset and discouraged.  Why do turkey hot dogs need sugar?  How is that a company that advertises there peanut butter as ‘natural’ have sugar listed as the second ingredient?  Then I started to understand.

For years our country has been complaining about the obesity rates.  More recently they are worried about our kids and obesity.  I no longer wonder why this is happening.  Sugar is in EVERYTHING.  Even things you would consider to be healthy, like 100% whole wheat bread.  Or, peanut butter.  Or milk or spaghetti sauce or cheerios and the list goes on and on.  How can we expect our country to be healthy when everything we put in our mouth has sugar?

Well, I have been sugar free for 12 days.  In that time I have slipped up a few times.  I also learned that it is impossible to be sugar free at a church potluck.  Along with the sugar free challenge I have started to be more active.  I have lost 4.9 lbs so far.

This year is a milestone for me.  I just turned 30 in December and am also at my heaviest.  Growing up I was never really skinny but I was always in shape.  I have never been this heavy and I am tired of it. 2014 will be a year of change for me.  Not just for my family but most of these changes will be for myself.  I have set a goal for myself to finish a 1/2 marathon.  I love to run.  Always have, but being over 200 lbs can make that difficult.  Difficult isn’t the issue.  The issue is I need to not let it hold me back.  I need to step up and take control.  Take control of how my year goes.  So, this, this is to the new year!

2 thoughts on “Sugar Free! She must have lost her mind.

  1. […] In January I decided that I was going to do something new every month. I decided that I didn’t want to do just a list of resolutions. I, like many others, don’t stick with them. This year I decided to do this. Well, it is July now and I figured I should probably check back in. If you would like to read more about why I made this decision and what January entailed for me check it out here. […]

    Like

Comments are closed.