Chore Chart

chorechartFor the past year or so I have  been wanting to make a chore chart for my kids. They are really helpful kids! Always wanting to jump in and ‘help’ me do what ever I am working on. They love to unload the dishwasher, put clothes away and are starting to learn how to fold towels. I love their willingness to help. It has been becoming apparent, especially for the firefighter, that he needs to have an end goal. Having a clean room or clean clothes isn’t cutting it anymore. So I set out on a mission to make a chore chart.

Now, pinterest is full of ideas. Many of them are great, some are more complicated than I think is necessary, and others that well, to me look, like the parent is only doing one because they think their child will find it useful.  As I was browsing I realized that I didn’t like anyone chart. I liked aspects of several different ones. As I was complaining to my husband one night he pointed out that I should just take what I liked and construct my own!(now why didn’t I think of that?)

After that very good observation I set out on collecting the supplies that I would need. It started with this cork board that I found at a garage sale for $1!

001 (2)(idea taken from here)

 

Then I raided my sewing box and came up with the material and ribbon for the back ground and eventually created this.

005 (2)I used a hot glue gun to attach the material to the board and the ribbon to the material.

Then I printed off a ‘to do’ and a ‘done’ shape and attached them to clothes pins like this.

todo and done(clothes pin idea from here)

Following that I searched for pictures of the chores and printed them out. Clip art is a great tool for this as well as google images. To ‘laminate’ them, I covered them in clear packing tape and then cut them out.

002 (2)

I got the list of chores from this

d3c41f1d12b13d2a8db96c32133e3bd2But you can do any number of different searches to find lists.

Now this next part doesn’t work for every kid/family. This is what works for our family. Please feel free to ignore this part. My husband and I decided that we wanted to do a reward chart for our kids. The firefighter seems to do much better when he can see what is coming and see what he has accomplished. I used this one for the princess

princess

And this one for the firefighter

thisd

After all of that work I ended up with this.

discussion

We are only 4 days into using this but things seem to be going well. They wake up each morning and dash to the board to find out what they ‘get to do’ for the day. This chore list inspired the blog series, ‘the bed making challenge’ and you can read more of it here.

What are some chore ideas you have for your kids?

 

7 thoughts on “Chore Chart

  1. You are doing a great job getting your home life organized! I like your creative chore chart and it looks like the kids are enjoying it too. 🙂 I need to make myself one! 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.