The bed Making Challenge week 4!

At the beginning of July I started a challenge with my kids. It was the challenge to make their beds. All on their own. I was not to help them. You can read about it here. I had set the example for some time and decided that it was time they got into the habit. So began the challenge.

We are in the 4th week of the challenge and I am pleasantly surprised! The first couple weeks the princess really struggled. There were days she didn’t even get the blankets on the bed. I said from the beginning that I wouldn’t force the issue but she wouldn’t get her sticker on her chore chart if she didn’t make her bed. Well, it seems that week 3 it finally clicked!

bedmaking3aydenWe actually got the blanket on the bed!

The firefighter didn’t seem to struggle as much. At first he didn’t understand what the big deal was, but the promise of no sticker on his chore chart seemed to help him see the need.

bedmaking3

Week 4 seems to be the best so far.

bedmaking4The firefighter went overboard a tad and put every blanket in his room on his bed…

The princess was so proud of her accomplishment this morning that she wanted to be in the picture.

bedmaking4aydenI referenced our chore chart several times and you can read more about that here. I have been having fun during this challenge. Watching my kids learn a new skill and seeing the excitement that they get helps me want to try harder.

What are some new skills your kids have learned this summer?

 

9 thoughts on “The bed Making Challenge week 4!

    • Thanks! It is going better then I thought and now that they are doing it, I can’t skip making my bed…

      Like

    • I wasn’t sure what to expect but I have been pleasantly surprised! Let me know how it goes for you!

      Like

Comments are closed.