Banana Popsicles: So easy a 5 yr old can do it!

frozen bananaWhen I was growing up, my sister and I would spend at least a week every summer at my grandparents house in Missouri. It was so much fun for us. Spending time with my grandparents, helping in the garden and just playing on their farm land. One of my memories is that we didn’t get ‘normal’ Popsicles. We got frozen bananas on Popsicle sticks. We called them Banana pops. If we were really lucky she would dip them in chocolate. They were the perfect treat on hot summer afternoons. So, I am passing that tradition on to my kids. Today, the firefighter had the chance to do the entire process on his own.

The set up and process for this is really easy!

  • You need bananas, the riper the better!
  • Popsicle sticks. I am sure that skewers would work as well.
  • A child safe knife. I used a butter knife this time but previously have used a plastic knife.
  • Cutting board
  • plastic container or bag to store them in in the freezer
  • Willing little helper

The first step is to peel the bananas.

feels funnyThen they can slice them into pieces.

knifeskillsThe sizes of the pieces don’t have to be exact. Half of the fun is just cutting the banana and using the knife ‘like a big kid’. When the pieces are cut put them on the popsicle sticks or skewers. As you can see we got quite a few varying sizes.

popsicle sticksThen, as the picture says, pop them on popsicle sticks and put them in the freezer.

The last thing to do with the activity is to enjoy them!

yummyWhat are some fun memories you have growing up?

 

11 thoughts on “Banana Popsicles: So easy a 5 yr old can do it!

Comments are closed.