B is for Build-a-bear Construction Paper Style

Today we started learning about the letter B. Now, when I think about words that start with B I automatically think of bears. Bears are cute, fuzzy, dangerous, can be a comfort in the form of a teddy bear or kind of scary if met in the wild. However you view bears we have all heard of the build-a-bear workshops that are in many malls. I remember as a kid wishing that I could go and get a bear from there. Well, when we came to this I decided that my kids would get to build a bear but it would be my way, and that is how I came up with build-a-bear construction paper style.

bab1

I am a mom that likes to do crafts with my kids. It has been quite the learning experience on how to best do things. The number one thing that I have noticed is that the craft goes much more smoothly if I am prepared ahead of time. If I take the time and make the effort to set things up before we start the craft goes a lot more smoothly and the kids seem to have more fun. For this craft that meant that I gathered all the materials that I would need and I pre cut the princesses pieces because using scissors is still a little difficult with her small hands.

Materials Needed:

  • Different colors of construction paper
  • Glue
  • Scissors
  • Ribbon
  • Markers
  • A fancy whole punch for the nose(not required but is fun!)

bab2After I gathered all of the materials together I separated them into baskets for each kid. this is not required but I found that it helped me keep both of them working and the steps right.

bab3The first thing that I had the firefighter do was to cut out the circles for the part of the bear.

bab4While he worked on his cutting skills the princess worked on her coloring while she colored her bears hat.

bab5As they worked on these parts of the activity I stepped back and realized that they were working in close proximity to each other and not fighting! Now this is a huge deal as of late because it seems that they can’t be in the same room without fighting. I had to get a picture of the moment!

bab6After the circles were cut out and the hats were colored it was time to cut out the noses and glue them into place.

bab7After the noses were glued on we glued the arms, legs and ears on. I found that it was easiest for me to put the glue on the paper and let them place the arms, legs and ears on themselves.

bab8When the body parts were all arranged I had them color in the buttons. This gave them a chance to practice coloring and the firefighter had fun tracing the dotted outlines of the buttons.

bab9After the buttons we decided the bears needed to get a little fancy. So we added the colored hats and then kicked it up a notch and added bows.

The kids seemed to have a lot of fun with the activity. The firefighter said that he won’t be able to forget the letter B because he had so much fun making this bear. Lets see if that is actually true tomorrow when we review…

bab

5 thoughts on “B is for Build-a-bear Construction Paper Style

Comments are closed.