Kids being Thankful Day’s 10-20

Well, the past 2 weeks have really gotten away from me and I am just now getting to our Thankfulness post. I promise that we are still talking about being thankful and taking pictures, I just haven’t had the chance to sit down and write. So here it is!

kids being thankful 5

This past year so much has happened to me as a mom. So much has been things that you shouldn’t be thankful for, yet, at the same time if you look at them from a different angle there really is something in everything to be thankful for. I know that I have done ‘Kids being Thankful’ for this series but I need to share a bit about why I am thankful for the struggles that I have had this past year.

There is a song that  Laura Story sings called ‘Blessings‘. It talks about how sometimes fear and pain is used to help us grow stronger and more steadfast in Christ. Now, I am not saying that in the middle of the storm you feel that way. What I am saying is, when you get to the other side of the storm look back and see what good came out of it. It has taken me a year to be able to look back at the struggle in my marriage a year ago and see how it was actually a good thing. So many things are better now, but it took us going through that struggle to realize how lucky we are to have each other and that we needed to make us a priority to keep that goodness we have.

The firefighter has really been struggling since we had to put him in all day Kindergarten. He does fine in school but when he comes home he loses it. He is so over stimulated that he can’t function. He can’t think and that makes him frustrated. We found a trick this last week that has really helped. He loves his sleeping bag. I never thought about using it for a sensory tool but it works! It gives him the sensory input that he needs and the comfort of being hugged, as he puts it.

thankfulMy husband is my hero! He is an amazing dad. He works 2 stressful jobs that have long hours and many times the 2 jobs are back to back and he doesn’t see the kids for days. No matter how tired he is, he finds time to play with them and to listen to what is on his heart. The princess was so excited to share her pop corn with daddy this week during our family movie night. She didn’t want anyone but daddy to be next to her because, ‘daddy is my favorite’.

thankful 1Keeping with the theme of my husband being so amazing the firefighter was thankful that his daddy was so smart! Helping the firefighter with homework is a chore and normally ends in tears but my husband does an amazing job!

Thankful 3Now, I am going to jump in here with another thing that I am thankful for. I am so proud to be married to a soldier. The feeling of family and support that you get is amazing. Veterans Day is a big deal for me. I am proud to be part of the military, even if it is through marriage. Soldiers, past and present are hero’s and deserve to be remembered and thanked. There is so much as civilians that we can’t understand or comprehend that these men and women see and feel. I am amazed and honored to say Thank you to them.

10805600_989370384422375_3512392584778239466_nThe princess is thankful for her brothers legos. Now, as a mom, I am so excited to see my little girl excited about building and constructing!

Thankful 4Another favorite pastime, and thankfulness activity is coloring. The princess is thankful for paper, crayons and the markers that I rarely let her use.

thankful 2The last one for this post is from me. I am so thankful for kids who like to cook and bake with me. Some of my favorite memories are cooking and baking with my dad. I love to see the excitement and accomplishment on their faces when we finish making something and they get to eat it!

sspft 8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Kids being Thankful Day’s 10-20

  1. You are so blessed with a wonderful family. It’s nice that you are recognizing family members and giving thanks. A little thankfulness can go a long way!

    Like

Comments are closed.